de / en
Is My Smart Home Monitoring Me?
15:45-16:45

A fitness wristband is a smart thing indeed. But what data does such a device send out into the world? That's another question that the Journalism of Things needs to clarify. Marco Maas uses an inexpensive device from the Far East to show how such stories are researched and written. Again, the Plus Ticket already includes the device to be examined, so you can get started right away.

/thumbs/400×400×c/speaker/2021/02/1612199396_Small-Maas-Marco.jpg
Datenfreunde GmbH
Data journalist, founder and managing director
Get Involved
(Booking through our partner MFG)

Due to COVID-19, the Journalism of Things Conference 2021 will take place via Zoom. Participants will receive access details by email. There are two types of ticket: Basic Ticket, which entitles you to use all streams; or Plus Ticket, where holders get a hardware package with which they can immediately start tinkering in the workshops.

Basic Ticket: €25

Access to all talks and workshops, also available as recordings after the conference.

Plus Ticket: €75

Access to all talks and workshops, also available as recordings after the conference. Plus a hardware package worth €150. This includes all the components needed for the workshops: an Octopus board; a sensor for a CO2 traffic light; a speedometer; a fitness bracelet; components for collecting and measuring microplastics.

de / en
Überwacht mich mein Smart Home?
15:45-16:45

Schicke Sache, so ein Fitnessarmband. Aber welche Daten sendet so ein Gerät in die Welt hinaus? Auch das ist eine Frage, die der Journalismus der Dinge klären muss. Marco Maas zeigt anhand eines günstigen Geräts aus Fernost, wie man solche Geschichten recherchiert und schreibt. Auch hier gilt: Im Plus-Ticket ist das zu untersuchende Gerät schon enthalten, sodass man sofort loslegen kann.

/thumbs/400×400×c/speaker/2021/02/1612199396_Small-Maas-Marco.jpg
Datenfreunde GmbH
Datenjournalist, Gründer und Geschäftsführer
Dabei sein!
Nur zuhören – oder gleich mitbasteln

Die Journalism of Things Conference 2021 findet coronabedingt via Zoom statt. Teilnehmende erhalten die Zugangsdaten per eMail. Es gibt zwei Arten von Tickets: Das Basis-Ticket berechtigt zur Nutzung sämtlicher Streams, Plus-Ticketinhaber bekommen ein Hardwarepaket und können in den Workshops sofort mitbasteln.

Basis-Ticket: 25€

Zugriff auf sämtliche Talks und Workshops, auch als Aufzeichnungen nach der Konferenz verfügbar. (Buchung über unseren Partner MFG)

Plus-Ticket: 75€

Zugriff auf sämtliche Talks und Workshops, auch als Aufzeichnungen nach der Konferenz verfügbar. Außerdem ein Hardwarepaket im Wert von 150 Euro. Darin enthalten sind alle Bauteile, die man bei den Workshops braucht: Octopus-Platine, Sensor für eine CO2-Ampel, ein Geschwindigkeitsmesser, ein Fitnessarmband sowie Bauteile für den Mikroplastiksammler. (Buchung über unseren Partner MFG)